Speech And Debate Team Qualify For Nationals

Members of Concordia’s speech and debate teams will compete on the national level in March and April.

Debaters Erik Walker ’13, Eagan, Minn., and Emily Bosch ’14, Yankton, S.D., qualified for nationals by winning the American Forensic Association’s District IV tournament in Minneapolis. They will compete at the National Debate Tournament in Atlanta on March 29-April 6.

All Concordia speech team members who qualified for the finals of the district tournament will be traveling to nationals. Alex MacArthur ’12, Marshall, Minn., also received the 2011 Kevin Heineman Award for service to the district and forensics community.

The following team members will travel to the national tournament in San Marcos, Texas, in April: MacArthur, Justin Bertram ’12, Milaca, Minn.; Andrew Eilola ’12, Eveleth, Minn.; April Reino ’12, Shakopee, Minn.; Britt Aasmundstad ’13, Devils Lake, N.D.; Meg Henrickson ’13, Yankton, S.D.; Cole Kantos ’13, Waupaca, Wis.; Jenna Nypan ’13, Staples, Minn.; Joe Anderson ’14, Albany, Ore.; Hannah Houle ’14, Wyoming, Minn.; Kate Wilson ’14, Shakopee, Minn.; Cristy Dougherty ’15, St. Francis, Minn.; Christiana Hennings ’15, Brookings, S.D.; Krysta Hovendon ’15, Rosemount, Minn.; George Kueppers ’15, Spicer, Minn.; and Amber Morgan ’15, Byron, MInn.

“We’re all really excited to go to the national tournament,” says assistant forensics director Christopher Scott. “We have a lot of quality events and quality performers, and we’re working hard to be ready for the rigorous competition.”

1 Response

Comments are closed.